The Muralist

The Muralist

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
7
Rate this:

From the author of the New York Times bestseller The Art Forger comes a thrilling new novel of art, history, love and politics that traces the life and mysterious disappearance of a brilliant young artist on the eve of World War II--perfect for readers of The Paris Wife, The White Russian and All the Light We Cannot See

In 1940, American painter Alizee Benoit vanishes in New York City amid personal and political turmoil. No one knows what happened to her. Not her Jewish family living in German-occupied France. Not her artistic patron and political compatriot, Eleanor Roosevelt. Not her close-knit group of friends, including Mark Rothko, Jackson Pollock and Lee Krasner. And, some seventy years later, not her great-niece, Danielle Abrams, who while working at Christie's auction house uncovers enigmatic paintings hidden behind recently found works by those now-famous Abstract Expressionist artists. Do they hold answers to the questions surrounding her missing aunt?

Entwining the lives of both historical and fictional characters, and moving between the past and the present, The Muralist plunges readers into the divisiveness of prewar politics and the largely forgotten plight of European refugees refused entrance to the United States. It captures both the inner workings of today's art world and the beginnings of the vibrant school of Abstract Expressionism, bringing to life two unforgettable women and forcing us to ask timeless, provocative questions: What happens when luminous talent collides with inexorable historical forces? Does great art have the power to change the world? And to what lengths should a person go to thwart evil?

"B.A. Shapiro once again pens the art world into vivid, sensual life. . . . An intriguing story masterfully imagined about art, war, family, truth, and freedom." --Lisa Genova, New York Times -bestselling author of Love, Anthony

Publisher: Toronto, Ont. : HarperCollins Publishers, c2015.
Edition: 1st Canadian ed.
ISBN: 9781443446617
Characteristics: 337 p. ; 24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
saturn
Jul 27, 2017

Enjoyed this book. It was a page turner and it takes you into the world of art.

x
xiaojunbpl12
Mar 16, 2017

The artists (real and crazy ones) life and learning to appreciate abstract expressionist (their creative process, though the outcome must be still alien to me) drew me to the book. I wanted to learn the fate of Alizee without giving so much compassion as she deserved, wasn't surprised at the ending.
Anti-Jew then echoes anti-Muslim (immigrants) now, but any work about Holocaust is getting harder to please me.
I raved about The Art Forger partially, not sure if it's more contemporary or it's about classic painting style that my old soul cry for.

b
BlueHippo
Jun 14, 2016

Great read! I enjoyed the story going back and forth ffrom the present to the earlier times and being told from the pionts of view of both the aunt and Danielle. Interesting build on actual historical persons and events.

e
EmilyEm
Apr 01, 2016

A gifted artist working on WPA murals in NYC as WWII breaks out in Europe and a modern day Christie's employee searching for provenance to Abstract Expressionist art they may auction are the two women at the heart of this mystery. The question becomes whether the earlier artist is the long-lost great aunt of the other.
Shapiro blends fictional characters with real artists of the day and political figures like Eleanor Roosevelt and a shady Breckinridge Long to tell a tale of passion and perseverance when your family is at risk and art can ignite political discourse. Just like Europe’s current asylum-seeker crises, the one during this time resulted in widely differing opinions. Good to explore even if it’s a little distracting to the main story.

d
dougslater
Jan 07, 2016

I liked this book and its story of a young woman, Danielle, in 2015, trying to solve the disappearance of her Aunt Alizee, a young artist in New York in the early 1940's as WW2 was starting.
I would have liked it better though if more of the book had been devoted to the telling of the "disappearance" part of the story, I think that might have made for an interesting read.

c
cknightkc
Dec 07, 2015

For me THE MURALIST wasn't quite as satisfying as author B. A. Shapiro's earlier novel, THE ART FORGER still there were certain aspects that I enjoyed. THE MURALIST is an historic novel which intertwines the stories of 2 fictional heroines, Alizee and Danielle, from different time periods in America (1939-1941) and present day. Shapiro does a good job of inserting real-life characters and events within her story. Before this book, I didn't know that much about abstract expressionism but as I read I was prompted to learn more about the real painters who were major influences in this movement. Likewise I found the discussion about creativity, artistic talent, self-medication, and mental illness fascinating. The issues of Jewish immigration to pre-WWII America are raised which I found compelling and timely in light of our current debates regarding Syrian refugees. Overall, THE MURALIST explores the following themes: mystery, politics, family, and the consequences of one's action or apathy. My only criticisms are that at times the writing and dialogues seemed forced and the ending was rushed and a little too neat.

f
fjvalentin
Dec 06, 2015

I enjoyed this book, although maybe not quite as much as her previous novel "The Art Forger". I particular was engrossed by the interaction of her character Alizee Benoit with fellow artists Rothko, Pollock and Krasner. I found her story gripping, but found the character Danielle a little weak. Fortunately the end tied the entire story together and mitigated that shortcoming.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RDPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top