My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
42
1
Rate this:
A must-read for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette

Heartbreaking and hilarious in equal measure, the new novel by the author of the internationally bestselling phenomenon A Man Called Ove will charm and delight anyone who has ever had a grandmother. Everyone remembers the smell of their grandmother's house.

Everyone remembers the stories their grandmother told them.

But does everyone remember their grandmother flirting with policemen? Driving illegally?
Breaking into a zoo in the middle of the night? Firing a paintball gun from a balcony in her dressing gown?

Seven-year-old Elsa does.

Some might call Elsa's granny 'eccentric', or even 'crazy'. Elsa calls her a superhero. And granny's stories, of knights and princesses and dragons and castles, are her superpower. Because, as Elsa is starting to learn, heroes and villains don't always exist in imaginary kingdoms; they could live just down the hallway.

As Christmas draws near, even the best superhero grandmothers may have one or two things they'd like to apologise for. And, in the process, Elsa can have some breath-taking adventures of her own . . .
Publisher: London : Sceptre, 2015
ISBN: 9781444775846
1444775847
9781473626843
Characteristics: 342 p. ; 22 cm.
Additional Contributors: Koch, Henning 1962-- Translator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

SnoIsleLib_RobynY Feb 13, 2018

A heartwarming read; full laughs, cries, and inspiration. The wisdom of this Grandmother is as practical as it is humorous. The main character, Elsa, is a loveable 7 year old with an "old soul" who traverses the reader through her world of reality which is woven with fantasy in order to carry out her grandmother's last wishes. This is another must read from author Fredrik Backman.

s
swheeler89
Jan 30, 2018

After reading A Man Called Ove, I have back tracked to read Backman's other works, and he consistently delivers. This is another wonderfully written gem, more of a feel good, choke you up while delivering laughs along the way. For me its behind Bear Town and A Man Called Ove - simply because at times it was tough to bounce back and forth to the "fairy tale land" that runs parallel to the story of the neighbors.

r
reiyos
Jan 21, 2018

I don't have much patience for fantasy, however, I wish I had read with more attention the details of the "land of almost awake". Ultimately all of the details of the book (real and fantasy) come into play by the end of the book. While this book is well outside my normal read, the wisdom and antics of the child and the grandmother made this an enjoyable event for me.

a
anniemae
Dec 05, 2017

Made me laugh and cry, another great read from the author of A man called Ove

c
cbailey001
Nov 14, 2017

Loved this story of a young girl finding out who her grandmorther was before she was born. All interwoven into a grand fairy tale.

d
dirtbag
Nov 02, 2017

I laughed, I cried, I was often confused and occasionally bored. It is still worth reading. Now that I have read two of the authors books I am getting more curious about who this man is in real life. He is as quirky as the author of 'The Goldfinch'.

a
annagraceiaboni
Oct 16, 2017

This book is such a different read but a great one! I loved all of the characters and could not wait to see how their stories unfolded. It also had laugh out loud funny moments. At times the switch between reality and make believe could be confusing for me but overall I loved the book! Cannot wait to read more by this author.

c
Carchick
Oct 05, 2017

Not like any book I've ever read but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Good read.

c
ChesterChester
Sep 25, 2017

The main character is a small girl, and I love her. The people around her are bizarre but interesting. I found this to be an unusual read - and enthusiastically read to the very end which, at 52, I only do if I honestly care. I recommend it.

r
Ridgerunner07
Aug 18, 2017

Not a fan of fantasy, and at the onset of this book I was questioning my willingness to continue. So glad I persevered! The quirkiness of Grandma would easily be portrayed by the likes of Phyllis Diller, Cloris Leachman, or Carol Burnett, and it was a delight to read with them in mind. I agree it could have been told by a child older than this precocious seven year old, without losing anything. Dysfunctional people, heartbreak, betrayal, humour and a whole lotta love ~ a charming read!!

View All Comments

Summary

Add a Summary

m
maggielo
Aug 23, 2016

From the author of the internationally bestselling A Man Called Ove, a charming, warmhearted novel about a young girl whose grandmother dies and leaves behind a series of letters, sending her on a journey that brings to life the world of her grandmother's fairy tales"--

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RDPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top