I Don't Want to Be A Frog

I Don't Want to Be A Frog

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:

The hit book about a willful young frog with a serious identity crisis and his heard-it-all-before father! Perfect for fans of Mo Willems's Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! and Jon Klassen's I Want My Hat Back!

Frog wants to be anything but a slimy, wet frog. A cat, perhaps. Or a rabbit. An owl? But when a hungry wolf arrives--a wolf who HATES eating frogs--our hero decides that being himself isn't so bad after all. In this very silly story with a sly message, told in hilarious dialogue between a feisty young frog and his heard-it-all-before father, young readers will identify with little Frog's desire to be something different, while laughing along at his stubborn yet endearing schemes to prove himself right.

And look for the hilarious sequel - I Don't Want to Be Big - available now!

* "First-time author Petty's dialogue between a frog father and his son makes its point about accepting one's nature with a big grin. . . . The story might create similar gratitude in the minds of readers--or it might just make them giggle."-- Publishers Weekly , STARRED REVIEW

"A lively look at self-acceptance."-- Kirkus Reviews

"This amusing story ends with a laugh and a much more content frog."-- School Library Journal

"Silliness and deadpan humor combine into a hopping good story of being happy with who you are."-- Booklist

"A paean to self-acceptance wrapped in snappy dialogue and illustrated with richly colored comic paintings." -- Wall Street Journal

"Petty and Boldt provide just enough predictability to hook youngest readers, then deliver a delightful twist or two to create surprise and satisfaction--for both the green hero and the many fans he'll make with this book."-- Shelf Awareness

"This lighthearted exploration of identity will delight as a readaloud."-- The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Publisher: New York : Doubleday, 2015.
ISBN: 9780385378666
Characteristics: 1v. (unpaged) : colour illustrations ; 26 cm.
Additional Contributors: Boldt, Mike - Illustrator
Alternative Title: I do not want to be a frog

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
susan_findlay
Apr 09, 2017

Okay, but no plot to speak of. My three year old enjoyed yelling at the frog like we do with Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus - but this book doesn't invite that interaction the way that the pigeon books do. Not a bad book, but not a great book either.

DBRL_KatieL Sep 29, 2016

In "I don't want to be a Frog" a young frog, lets call him Junior, proclaims to his father that no longer desires to be a frog. He would rather be a cat, an owl, a rabbit, or even pig. Father always has a reason why Junior can't be any of these animals, the most important being that Junior is a frog. Just as Father is getting to the heart of the matter- why Junior does not want to be a frog, a wolf comes along strikes up a conversation about different kinds of animals. Apparently Wolf loves to eat all kinds of animals, especially the ones Junior wanted to be. The bright side is that Wolf won't eat frogs, for the very reason's Junior didn't want to be a frog. Turns out being a frog isn't so bad after all.

Dev Petty and Mike Boldt have created a cute story about looking on the bright side, and finding the positives of being you. At the end of the story Junior asks what's wrong with being a fly, inviting children to answer this question (there is a hint in the last illustration). This opens up discussion, and and can lead to a fun craft! Fairly quickly, and with only a few supplies you can make a frog with tongue that you extend, allowing you to catch felt or flannel 'flies'. Here is a link to the instructions, curtsy of Kids Activities Blog.

mvkramer Nov 20, 2015

A little frog decides he wants to be anything except what he is. This is a cute story with expressive illustrations. I love reading this aloud!

m
mmcbeth29
Sep 20, 2015

SUMMARY: Little frog decides he doesn't want to be a frog anymore. He decides he wants to be a cat. He tells his dad this startling revelation, but his dad comes up with all the reasons he can't be a cat. Little frog tries several other animals on for size, but his dad has reasons against all of them. Then a very large wolf comes along and gives Little frog a very good reason why he should want to stay a frog.

ILLUSTRATIONS: The illustrations steal the show with funny facial expressions and body language. Even in their simplicity, they speak volumes.

THE GOOD: There is a lot of humor throughout the book making it a funny read. There is quite a twist with the wolf teaching the moral lesson rather than the "cuter" animals. The younger children will not get, but hopefully the older children will. A+ for creativity.
THE NOT AS GOOD: For the youngest children, the wolf is shown quite huge with very large teeth which may be scary. Plus he talks about how much he LOVES eating other animals. There is even an illustration of a to-go bag of organic badgers. This book is full of tongue in cheek humor the younger children may not get (not my favorite children's book style). The moral of love yourself for who you are is so subtle I missed it the first time.

AGE RECOMMENDATION: Ages 4-7.

s
sdodge66
Feb 24, 2015

An entertaining look at why the grass seems greener in another's life but is rarely so. Wonderful illustrations convey the feelings of both the parent and the young frog: patience+practicality meeting frustration.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RDPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top