Run

Run

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
For fans of Harlan Coben's Tell No One and Joseph Finder's Paranoia-- a high-octane thriller featuring a tech consultant who unwittingly steps into the rabbit hole of corporate cover-ups--and finds that his highly demanding job has suddenly become highly dangerous.

From Andrew Grant, the critically acclaimed author hailed by Nelson DeMille as "a little bit of le Carr#65533; and Ian Fleming, but with more grit and a sharper edge," comes a thrilling novel of suspense that hits the ground running when an innocent man suddenly finds himself a moving target.

Marc Bowman, a highly successful computer consultant and software designer, walks into his job at a major tech company one morning only to find himself fired on the spot, stonewalled by his boss, and ushered out of the building. Then things get worse: An explosive argument drives his wife away and a robbery threatens to yank a million-dollar idea--and his whole future--out from under him. In a matter of hours, Marc has gone from having it all to being sucker-punched by fate. But it's only Monday, and before the week is over, he'll be stalked, ambushed, wiretapped, arrested, duped, double- and triple-crossed--until he can't tell enemies from allies.

Suddenly, the only thing standing between him and the wrath of everyone from the FBI to Homeland Security to his desperate ex-bosses is a flash drive full of data that might just be the holy grail of high-tech secrets--and a holy terror in the wrong hands. Now, as the gloves come off and the guns come out, turning back is hopeless and giving up is madness. The only person left for Marc to trust is himself. And the only thing left to do is keep running--or end up a dead man walking.

Praise for Run

"Readers who enjoy corporate espionage will enjoy [ Run ]." -- Booklist

"Fast-moving . . . high on adrenaline." -- Publishers Weekly

"Twists and surprises abound, the pace never slows, and the writing satisfies. So go ahead, read and enjoy this one." -- Kirkus Reviews

" Run is an incredibly smart thriller, using current technology and security concerns mixed with old-school tactics to create breathless suspense. . . . The plot twists continue right up to the very last page, and the action propels the story forward, sweeping the reader right along with it. For a fast-paced, tension-fueled thriller where shady characters abound, add Run to your list." -- Crimespree Magazine

" Run is brilliantly crafted and lightning-paced." -- BookPage

"Run to the bookstore and check out Andrew Grant's Run ." -- Kings River Life Magazine

"Breathtakingly fast-paced." --Harlan Coben

"Smart, fast, and blazing with nonstop surprises, Run owned me from the first page and, man, those pages kept turning! This is a perfect thriller." --Robert Crais

"An adrenaline-fueled thrill ride that will have your head spinning and your heart pounding." --Joseph Finder

"A fast-paced, sleek thrill ride. Andrew Grant knows how to keep you turning the pages." --Jeff Abbott

"High stakes, high tension, and nonstop action . . . Don't even try to predict where this taut thriller is headed. Just hang on and enjoy this smart, original, and fast-paced adventure." --Hank Phillippi Ryan


From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, c2014.
ISBN: 9780345540737
9780345540720
Characteristics: p.; cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

d
dannnn
Oct 23, 2015

Plot is weak. Chacters not clearly developed. At end it was hard to tell who the bad guys were and what was accomplished. I wanted to put it down, as Lee Child recommended it (author is his brother in law), I toughed it out but never got better. Pass on this one.

i
IMNetUser
May 22, 2015

Not a page turner but easy read. Ending a little anti-climatic - figured the who done it early but was not totaly satisfied with ending.

Over all - a decent book.

j
jazpur
Nov 10, 2014

Pedestrian with unpleasant wooden characters. The basic idea was good but I didn't find anything redeeming in the 30 something nerdy characters in the world of huge corporations and computer intelligence.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RDPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top