The Firelight Girls

The Firelight Girls

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:

"A sweet, touching view of the evolution of love and friendships. For readers who enjoy Kristin Hannah or Luanne Rice." - Library Journal
The years spent at summer camp are indelibly etched on your heart. Can you ever really say good-bye to the place that made you who you are? This is the question that haunts three generations of women when a desperate, homeless teenager turns up at the campground they all used to call home. Now it's up to the former Firelight Girls to help her. There's Laura, who once believed in marriage but no longer knows if her own is worth fighting for; Shannon, who spent the summers of her youth as a camp counselor and is now directionless after her career implodes; Ethel, the camp director whose heart has been broken beyond repair; and Ruby, who betrayed Ethel years ago and is still looking for a chance to make amends. Can these women all come together and find a way to save a young girl for whom all hope seems lost--and recapture their own dreams along the way?
"Generous...big-hearted...irresistible."--Marisa de los Santos

Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Griffin, ©2014.
ISBN: 9781250105028
9781250059925
Characteristics: 244 p. ; 22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
hoffmanwp
Jun 24, 2015

I look forward to reading this book. The Camp Fire camp I grew up with and managed for the last 30 years is being sold. Since programming has become dormant, our national office revoked our charter. I'm hoping to find some ideas.

LaughingOne Jan 01, 2015

Camp Firelight is a permanent summer camp for girls ages 5 through high school, with older girls coming back as counselors and a couple, like Ethel, even becoming the director of camp. Located on Lake Wenatchee in Washington state, Camp Firelight was the home of the heart and spirit of some of the girls. Unfortunately, the well that supplied safe water to the camp ran dry, twice in two years. There was not enough money to drill a new well and the governing board of the camp decided it was time to stop, and to sell the camp. Ethel, who had been retired from being the camp director for around 10 years, and who lived on Lake Wenatchee only a couple of miles from the camp, sent a missive to camp alumnae, informing them of this decision and inviting them to come help clean up the camp for sale and to say goodbye. This novel is about the week or so that Ethel and some of the women are at camp. A teenager (Amber) also becomes part of the story even though she never attended this camp. This is a story about love, fortitude, courage, friendship, and making clear choices.

c
caj1222204441801
Dec 08, 2014

what an amazing book! it talks of the world changing for women and girls starting in the 50s and how they save their camp. fun, enjoyable and times a heartbreaker. enjoy!!!!!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RDPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top